2019 COS Honorary Member Awards

emmelawardMichael Saffir, MD (l) and Michael Aronow, MD, COS President(r) congratulate David Emmel, MD (center) on becoming an honorary member of the Society at the Annual Meeting on May 10, 2019.

The Connecticut Orthopaedic Society inducted David Emmel, M.D., as an Honorary Member of the Society at the Society’s Annual Meeting on May 10, 2019, in Farmington, CT. He was inducted by Michael Saffir, MD, COS Ex Officio Associate Member who presented the award to him.

Dr. Emmel, a practicing ophthalmologist, serves as Chair of the Connecticut State Medical Society’s (CSMS) Legislative Committee where he spearheads the annual legislative agenda for consideration and adoption by the Council of the CSMS. He has been instrumental in working with the various medical specialty groups, including the COS, for input and discussion to ensure all of medicine’s issues are represented at the Legislature and our collective voices are strong and heard.

The Society was pleased to recognize him for the many opportunities he has shared with the Society and his orthopaedic colleagues for mutual legislative work to support the medical community and our patients. In honor of his tireless legislative leadership, thoughtful collaboration and dedicated advocacy for physicians and patients, the COS was proud to welcome him into the Society as the 2019 Honorary Member.

We have all benefited from his strong, reasonable and compassionate voice at the Legislature.